RSS

For the Love of Pickles!!

18 Aug

Anyone who knows me well knows that I love all things salt and vinegar.  Potato chips for sure, but other things too.  French fries at a football game doused in vinegar and ketchup.  Olives, capers, anything brined. But most of all, I love pickles. I’ve never met a pickle I didn’t like, but my favorites would have to be a tie between dill and bread and butter.

Because of this mild obsession, I’ve been hoarding pickling recipes with the good intention of trying to make my own.  And I have to tell you that I made and teeny tiny batch out of two pickling cucumbers today, but it can hardly be called pickling because I ate all of them after they had spent about an hour in the fridge.  Seriously, all of them.  They were delicious!

Before I had eaten quite all of them, I remembered to take a picture. Haha

I used Recipe Girl’s recipe for Bread and Butter pickles, and only made a few slight changes.  I approximately quartered the recipe for the brine since I had such a puny amount of cucumbers, and  I only used white vinegar since that’s what I had.  Also, I used a red onion instead of a white, and I impulsively threw in a very thinly sliced jalapeno, which made them sweet and spicy pickles.  I am definitely going to have to try this again with a regular sized batch, and not eat them all on the first day so they have some time to really “pickle.”

On another pickleish note, I finally decided what to do with the black-eyed peas from my farmshare box.  Most of the recipes for fresh black-eyed peas (or purple-hull peas as they’re sometimes called) involved some variation on soaking in a vinaigrette after they’d been cooked.   I found this recipe for purple hull pea salad from Homesick Texan, and decided to loosely follow that.  It’s basically salsa or guacamole but with beans instead of tomatoes or avocados.  I decided to throw in some red onion, and once I tasted the final product it was quite spicy (i put in cayenne and two jalapenos, so it better be!)  which I like, but I threw in a pinch of white sugar to balance it out a little.  Also, I decided to put in some corn which I had in the freezer, which is also sort of sweet.

The “cast of characters” as The Pioneer Woman loves to say: cilantro, tomatoes, jalapenos, lime juice, olive oil, garlic, red onion, cumin, cayenne, and salt and pepper.

 

After being simmered for 40 minutes the beans turned an ugly beigey color, but they were nice and tender.

The finished salad. I think it will be yummy as a dip for tortilla chips, or on a bed or greens as a meal.

And finally, if you’re in need of some comedic relief, I took Tilly tubing on the Guadalupe River yesterday.  Unfortunately I don’t have any photographic evidence, but a shot of her in her ridiculous doggy life jacket should give you a pretty good idea.   I wasn’t sure how she’d feel about the whole thing, so I invested in the life jacket as an extra precaution (also, it had a handle on the back which made her easier to grab if I needed to).  She was so not pleased with me for putting her in a tube in the middle of a river, but she was a good sport about it, so it turned out to be a really fun day anyway.  

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2012 in Cooking, Fun Stuff, Tilly

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “For the Love of Pickles!!

  1. Kati

    August 19, 2012 at 9:57 AM

    I am in love with your dog.

     
  2. emmycooks

    August 21, 2012 at 11:43 PM

    I live when things fail to pickle properly because you can’t wait to eat them. That’s the best kind of recipe failure. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
