RSS

Experiments in the Kitchen

12 Aug

One of the things I’ve learned after a few years of cooking for myself on a consistent basis is that the week always goes better if I’ve got a plan.  Whether it’s not knowing what to make, or not having all of the ingredients, it’s the worst to have to go to the grocery store multiple times a week or resort to eating out (especially on a tight budget).  One of the chores for the weekend is to plan out the whole week and go shopping.

Yesterday I was in the mood to try a few new recipes, and so I picked a few from this list that sounded interesting.  65 Cheap, Healthy, One-Dish Meals with Good Leftover Potential. . . what’s not to love about that?  Genius.  

First up, Shrimp-and-Rice Stuffed Tomatoes.  After I went shopping, this was the recipe I was most excited to make, so i did.  🙂

Rice, tomatoes, onions and garlic, lemon, oregano, feta cheese, and shrimp. Sounds simple enough, and it really was.  There were a few things I did that were slightly different than the recipe, but nothing drastic.  First, I only had basmati rice, so I used that.  Also, the tomatoes I found were outrageous mutant enormous tomatoes, so I only got three.  Also, I got raw shrimp still in the peel, so I had to peel and de-vein it myself.  This can be a little bit time consuming, but it’s really not hard, and it makes the shrimp much cheaper (I got a half pound for something like three dollars and change).  If you’ve never had to clean shrimp before, this video is a good tutorial.  

Because I only had three tomatoes, I had some extra stuffing at the end, so I just filled a ramekin and baked it in that.  I baked the ramekin about 10 minutes less than the tomatoes.  The reason I felt the need to share the recipe was that it was really delicious and satisfying for a little bit of work and time.  I love recipes that are a high rate of delicious return on your small investment of time/money.  They turned out great! The stuffing on top got browned and a little bit crunchy, the cheese got soft, and the shrimp were really tender. It was a nice light summery meal.  

Also, I was in the mood for a cocktail, and the peaches grabbed my attention in the produce aisle, so I made Peach Margaritas following Martha’s recipe.  The first step was to cut up the peaches and let them soak in sugar, a little bit of salt and triple sec.

I could have eaten them out of the bowl just like this!

After tequila, lime, and the blender. I’m not fancy enough to have actual margarita glasses, so I’m living it up with plastic tumbler. haha

They turned out pretty well too!  It was a really great summer evening meal.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 12, 2012 in Cooking

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
