RSS

Paint It Black

02 Aug

I just wanted to share my first foray into the world of spray paint since I’m so proud of myself.  One of the only pieces of furniture I moved (besides my bed) was a bakers rack.  It started out a funny speckled green color.

The baker’s rack before

Since I had to take the dang thing totally apart to get it to fit in the trailer, I decided to take the opportunity to give it a facelift.  I used a primer made for metal that’s already been painted, and a glossy black spraypaint.  After taping every single space on my little porch over with a plastic dropcloth, I got to work.  After two days of painting and a whole day of letting it dry and putting it back together, let me introduce you to my very first spraypainting beauty:

The after

(forgive the not so great photography, I never claimed that was a skill of mine)  🙂

For now, its living in the corner of the dining room, and I’m thrilled that i was able to remember how to put it back together correctly.  

Also, since I had some paint leftover, I got to work on this little picture frame as well:

Now it’s a much better match for this long and skinny print I bought when I was studying abroad in India.  I’m pretty happy with the results of my experimentation so far.  Also, I thought I’d share this list of spray-painting tips first brought to my attention by a friend of mine (Thanks Britt!). It was helpful to have someone who does it a lot explain the basics (especially since I had no idea what I was doing).

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in DIY projects

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Paint It Black

  1. Brittany

    August 3, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    Oh yeah, first shout out! It looks good! I still need to finish my first spraypainting experiment…it’s sitting on my porch right now with the top of the table newly painted and the frame/legs in shambles. Someday…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
